Seaford Chamber 65th Anniversary


On Friday 8 November an auspicious gathering of past Presidents was held to launch the official commemoration of 65 years of Seaford Chamber of Commerce.

Whilst the high street is currently experiencing difficult times in other small towns, Seaford’s eclectic mix of boutique and unique shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants (together with some of the big chains), has ensured its continued success.  There is a thriving business community here – and in addition to the high street are a multitude of micro-businesses working from home and in other centres such as Cradle Hill industrial estate.  These make up the current membership of the Chamber, which stands at close to 100.

The purpose of the gathering was to obtain a souvenir photograph of as many past Presidents as possible, which will be used in the commemorative programme given to all guests attending the prestigious formal dinner on 20 June 2020 at Deans Place, Alfriston.  The Keynote speaker at that event will be BBC South East’s Natalie Graham, herself a Seaford resident for many years.

The organising Committee were delighted to meet some of the many past Presidents who gave their time and effort voluntarily to help and support the business community in Seaford since 1955.  Most of them had their own enterprises to run – but were keen to ensure that the voice of business was heard when controversial issues affecting local traders were raised.  The continued success of Seaford’s town centre is in no small part thanks to their efforts and the current management team of the Chamber was keen to recognise the important part they played.  The fact that most of the past Presidents still reside in Seaford is testament to the excellent quality of life enjoyed by residents.

Past Presidents Group

Pictured (LtoR) – 

Mark Flowers (President 2005 – 2006)

Chris Rolf (President 1989 – 1990)

Gerri Ori (President 2009 – 2011 and 2013 – 2015)

Stefano Diella (President 2008 – 2009)

Lynette Kemp (President 2006 – 2008)

Clare Davis (Current President)

Rob Blackman (President 2011 – 2013)

Brian Money (President 1975 – 1976)

Dave Argent (President 2004 – 2005)

Alasdair Fortune (President 2015 – 2017)